DSCF3654

 

Our local park.  Poor little statue needs a coat.

DSCF3659

kairo!  Kairo are these little instant bags of heat.  I don’t use them, but my husband buys them.  I think they are bad for the environment.   (I’m assuming.)

DSCF3648

Can you read the Japanese in blue?  Let me tell you a story first.

The owner of this shop is over ninety.  He says, “I want to die working!”  Lots of active elderly people in our area.

Okay, the blue writing says, “Miyata Jitenshya”  Miyata Bicycles.  It’s a bicycle shop.

 


As I have written about umpteen times before, I volunteer at my son’s elementary school as a Library Volunteer.  So yesterday, I went there and read a book to the fourth graders in English, and the leader of the Library Volunteers, H San, read the same book in Japanese.

Prior to reading the book, I teach a bit of the English vocabulary with flashcards that I have drawn.  Anyway, so I’m teaching the words and H San (who is a funny, outgoing woman) said, “You know mizu in English is pronounced Wawer.”  She slurred the word really badly.  “In English they don’t pronounce their words clearly.  They don’t say Wahtaah.  They say Wawer.”

:^I

So I’m like “Um,  Water.”   It’s pronounced WATER, DAMMIT!  “It sounds clear to us English speakers.”

Bescry engrish sonz liktis to jpnz pipul.

(I’m guessing.)

This is a funny clip of what various languages sound like in Japan.  He doesn’t do English.  That’s too bad.  (Or should I say, “datsu toooooooo baddo.”  Because that’s what Japanese people want to say, throwing in all those extra syllables.)

 

And I think everybody has seen this by now, but it is pretty funny.  What English sounds like:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_c1DzGGq6Ig  Oh wait, sorry.  Wrong video. That’s what Japanese sounds like (to non-Japanese ears.)

 

Before I came to Japan, Japanese sounded like a lot of Hiya! Soka! Banzai! Everything with an exclamation point.

 

Here is the correct video.  Despite sounding like supposed English, this video seems distinctly continental European.