I take the Japanese Kids’ newspaper to Japanese class to provide fodder for discussion.  Anyway, there was an article written by a Japanese woman who is visiting America.  She said that she was very surprised by all the praising that American parents give their kids.  All the “Good Job!  I knew you could do it! What a great kid you are!”

So I, in turn, was surprised that she was surprised.  Don’t Japanese moms and dads praise their children?  Not very often, according to my Japanese teacher.  Just a teeny bit, because a teeny bit of sincere praise is more effective than a deluge of flattery.

I am the sort of mom who walks around the house singing, “You are a wonderful booooy!   You are my pride and joooy!  You are so sweet!  And so neat!    And so cool!  But you don’t like to go to school!”   THAT sort of mom.

So.

My personality is not going to change 180 degrees based on some extremely spurious Japanese theories on childraising.

And besides that………….

 

 

DSCF3641

I found “Praise” Kit Kat!   Ha, take that!  Kit Kats with messages to your child.

The name Kit Kat itself sounds like “kitto katsu” (“For sure you will win”) so it is a play on words.  http://chrysanthemumandthesword.tumblr.com/post/50621764079

http://ameblo.jp/eccjunior-toyonaka/entry-11987028755.html?frm_src=thumb_module

DSCF3642

These kit kats are for kids in hopes that they do well on their entrance exams to high school, college, etc.  Messages like “Believe in yourself!”

DSCF3643

These Koala March are the same sort of things.  “You can do it” type messages.  (On the right, in the green box, are the regular Koala March)

DSCF3644

But for me????????   “Diet Fight!  You can do it!”  I need yogurt!  Not chocolate!  This is plain, very plain, no sugar added yogurt.

Can you read that kanji?  Something Zero O  (in red and white)

shibou=脂肪=grease, blubber, fat…….   Way to make me feel good about myself, Yo go ru to!

DSCF3645

Here’s my son’s afternoon snack with the “Praise” kit kat.  As you can see (or can’t see) the praise writing on the kit kat is very hard to see.   My son didn’t read it, didn’t care, just scoffed down that kit kat.  So, no, I won’t be buying these again.  (Although I thought about buying them for my Japanese teacher.  Kind of a HA!  YOU DO PRAISE KIDS IN JAPAN!   Told you so moment.)


I know, I need to calm down.  I think I need a kit kat.