I want to bring everyone up to speed with my Jpod101 learning.  I don’t use it as a primary source of learning, just a fun thing to do on the side.  As much as I like Jpod 101, I don’t think it is good enough to be one’s primary source.  (Conventional textbooks are better.)

Anyway, on my own, I am STILL slogging through Advanced Level “Miki’s Blog”.  I have been listening to these since I started Jpod over a year ago.   There are a lot of them!

Miki’s Blog is NOT a true advanced level.  The grammar is quite easy.  She writes like this: “I went to the moon over the weekend.  The moon is famous for its rocks.  I went rock hunting.  I found an exquisite rock.”

So yeah, pretty easy.  Every so often I’ll come across a word I don’t know (like “exquisite”) and attempt to learn it.

I took Japanese Boot Camp’s advice and I READ the blog first for kanji practice and then listen.  I need reading practice far more than listening practice.

The other thing I do is listen to  lower intermediate with my son, which is a mixture of English and Japanese (and is also far more difficult than “lower intermediate” level).  We both enjoy it.  Anyway, I come to the whole reason I wrote this post:

DH and I had a “discussion” (a euphemism for minor argument.)

He heard the Jpod 101 conversation track and he said, “That Japanese is so crude!  Don’t learn that!   That’s so bad for practice!”

I said, “Honey, Darling, Sweetest, but they SAID that it is crude Japanese.  It sounds like young twenty year old men.”

“Yes!  It sounds like New Yarkers at a bawl game cussin’ each other out.”  (I’m paraphrasing my husband, but yes, he did mention New York.  No offense, New Yorkers!)  “You should learn proper standard Japanese from a textbook.”

Whatever, dude.

I do study standard Japanese all the friggin’ time, but you know sometimes it is fun to learn a bit of gutter talk.  Omae!!!!!!!!

And below there is a photo of a magazine that my husband gets for my son.  I could say, “Don’t buy that magazine!   It’s full of educational poopy humor!  It’s making our son laugh and learn at the same time!”

DSCF3595

To be honest, I do understand my husband’s point of view.  I detest, just detest, when they teach Japanese kids’ “wanna”.  They teach this quite often, as though it is acceptable English.  Yet I am aware that the word “wanna” does appear in English, just not standard proper English.   So anyway, that’s the controversy.