This is Sakata City, in Yamagata Prefecture.  It was cold.DSCF3530

It was so cold I saw a Yuki Onna.

DSCF3237

 

 

 

It was so cold that the Yuki Onna slid her car on the ice on drove it into our wall!

 

DSCF3529

Okay, it was actually a car driven by (I think) a regular human woman.  Luckily nobody was hurt.  That’s the wall that surounds my parents-in-law’s farm.  They’ll get it fixed in March when the snow melts.


So how do we keep warm here in Tohoku, also known as “Snow Country?”

Electricity for heating the home is quite expensive.  And kerosene also may be used, but that is pretty cumbersome.  Generally, Japanese people just heat one room and close off the others.

DSCF3597

Japanese people make use of long underwear.  I did not know this until my Japanese teacher told me.  Love my long undies!

 

DSCF3596

The use warm coats like this “hanten” (half coat).  It’s meant to be worn indoors to keep warm.  I’m wearing one now!

 

DSCF3598

Also meant to be worn indoors.

DSCF3599

More hanten for indoor use!  They are so pretty I want to wear them outside.

 

DSCF3600

For indoor use.

 

DSCF3601

At work or at school, I often see females (always females!) sitting with a light, smallish blanket over the knees.  Like the ones pictured above.

 

DSCF3602

Not meant to be worn indoors, but hey America spotting!  Oh say can you see a wintry cap…..