I have my calendars in a spot where my son is sure to see them…right next to the desktop computer. So the other day, he was looking at the American one and said, “Who is Mar-Tin Lu-Ther King Junior?”

“Oh!” I was surprised because I KNOW we have discussed Dr. King before. “You mean Martin Luther King?”

“No, I mean Martin Luther King JUNIOR!”

“Well, Martin Luther King was a great American who fought for the rights of African Americans.”

“You forgot the JUNIOR.”

Okay. Anyway. We have discussed Black/White issues in America, possibly more than families living in the U.S. (Due to the fact that I know I can’t depend on the schools to teach anything about it.) But he seems to have forgotten a bit, so it was time for a review.

What does one do when one does not have access from the library to wonderful books about the subject in English? It’s definitely possible to go to the Internet…resources like https://kinginstitute.stanford.edu/king-papers/about-papers-project or http://www.thekingcenter.org/

I did go to the Internet for the “I have a dream” speech: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=smEqnnklfYs&list=RDsmEqnnklfYs There are bunch of youtube videos to choose from. (In the one I randomly chose, go to about 12:00 to reach the famous “I have a dream” part. Otherwise your child may get bored before the speech reaches this part. I, um, speak from experience.)

 

More than the Internet, however, I prefer to go to the Japanese library and see what I can find.

I found this book:    It’s really a great book with wonderful illustrations.  I didn’t bother with the Japanese text.  Instead I told the story in my own words:  “Long ago, there were people who lived in Africa.  They were happy there. But then they were kidnapped!”  That sort of thing……Very free and easy.  The illustrations of the book really guided me as I told the story.

I borrowed a picture book about Harriet Tubman.  But my storytelling method did not work well for this book.  It is illustrations of Harriet Tubman, over and over, on every single page. It was hard for me to use this book as a teaching tool.

Also, I borrowed a book about Martin Luther King Jr.  We looked at the pages and listened to his “I have a dream” speech.

The one book I did buy in English through the internet was National Geographic Kid Martin Luther King Jr.”  Really a great little book, and a bargain, IMO.  I’m lucky to have a good supply of English books available for purchase.  It’s a real blessing.

Also bought “Ruby Bridges Goes to School” a while back, so we will look at this again.  I know these two books are below his level, but they have great photos and stimulate great discussion.  Plus, they are oh so cheap.  A nice in depth book for older readers can be 2000 yen.  That is really expensive.

Okay, that’s about it.  Have an interesting day!