DSCF3123

My local American sized grocery story.  They really like snacks in boots here, but I’ve never bought those.  The snacks look like crap.  Instead, I bought Christmassy Black Thunder chocolate.  I knew my son would love that, and he did.

DSCF3124

His after school snack.  I saw these animal cookies at 7-11 and bought them.  They have the same ones in Japan, except these have chocolate on one side.  One of the benefits of being English speakers in Japan is that these sorts of items are readily available.  Back when my son was little, I would be all “See? See the eagle?  Eat the eagle!  Yum!  Yummy eagle!”  I feel a lot of “English Privilege” in Japan.


Well, I took the JLPT N2 on Sunday.  And once again it was too hard.  I recognized more kanji this time, though, so I felt good about that.  I have never taken N3 and I really should be taking that (I am sure I would pass it) but I don’t want to backtrack.  I want to challenge myself!

Some thoughts:

Well, I finished the N2 Somatome series, and it was not as difficult as the actual test.  If you are reading this and thinking how to study, you should probably study Somatome N2 books to take the N3 test.

A person in my group didn’t finish marking the answer sheet, and had the answer sheet taken away from her.  She had marked it in the book and thought there would be time left to mark in the  answer sheet.  She assumed that we would get a notice of “Five minutes left!”  Nope.  The time is written on the board, and you are responsible for making sure you are done on time.  Just a word of warning to those reading this.

I felt listening was harder than in the summer.  Listening is my best skill, and I can tell they bumped it up a notch.

I’ve already started studying for the next one.  Just listen to this sample sentence I came across:

日本語のニュアンスがわからないくせに、自分の辞書のほうが正しいと言い張る傲慢な毛唐だ。

You’re an arrogant dirty foreigner who claims your dictionary is correct even though you don’t understand the nuances of Japanese.

LOL (This quote is from one of my dictionary apps, not from Somatome or other “made in Japan” materials.)