If you were to believe CNN, you would think that all of Fukushima is abandoned by its inhabitants. But luckily, you read this blog and know that there are those of us who do indeed dwell in Fukushima. And we shop, too!

I bring you photos from my recent window shopping–all in downtown Fukushima City very near my home.

DSCF3092

I want….I want….I want……

DSCF3093

Luckily, window shopping is free.  (Unless you buy a window.)

DSCF3094
However, I worry about the financial state of these little shops.

DSCF3095

Even before the earthquake, these shops weren’t exactly bustling with customers.

(Hey, look!  America!)

DSCF3096

So I hope these shops are not struggling too much.

DSCF3097

CNN says lots of tourists are coming to get a glimpse of disaster stricken Fukushima.

DSCF3098

I don’t see a lot of tourists.  Where are they?

DSCF3099

Tourists have NEVER been common in Fukushima City.  It’s not exactly on par with Kyoto or Tokyo.

DSCF3100

So please come to Fukushima, why don’t you?  And not for the morbid curosity of being in a nuclear wasteland, just for FUN!

DSCF3101

Oh my.  Anpanman Christmas tree. How precious.  Do you think they will notice if I steal it?


If you didn’t get your fix of the multi-language thing with “Let It Go”, here’s some more: Gravity Falls Multi-Language!  My son likes it.  We are language nerds Gravity Falls nerds.