According to an ancient Japanese legend, mermaid flesh may grant immortality if eaten. However, there is a much greater chance that consumption will lead to death or transformation into a damned creature known as a Lost Soul…
-Wikipedia

I’ve talked in previous posts how the consumption of mermaid meat will let you live forever.  Have you tried it yet?  I haven’t.  Anyway, I posted a pic of a cute mermaid, something like this:

or this
or even this

But a true Japanese mermaid looks like this:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DSCF3035

My husband and son went shopping and came back with this book!  All about “Yokai”.

But the way in case you are wondering, “doll” is ningyou にんぎょう 人形 and “mermaid” is ningyo にんぎょ 人魚

To my ear, the two words にんぎょう  and にんぎょ sound exactly the same. But Japanese people hear two different words.

Also, the first kanji in each word means “human, person” (alone 人 is pronounced “hito”).    The second kanji in “doll” is “shape”  So 人形 is actually “Shape of a Human”.  The second kanji in “mermaid” is “fish”.  So 人魚 is actually Human Fish.  So the words themselves are pretty interesting.

 

But as you can see in the photo above, Japanese mermaids are frightening!  I wouldn’t want to catch one in my fishing net!