DSCF2702

This is the main train station in Bangkok.  We took the train to the lovely town of Ayutthaya.

DSCF2703

I thought the train station was picturesque!  It was definitely much “slower paced” than Japanese train stations in Tokyo.

DSCF2704

I brought these Hallowen hair doodads to my niece from Japan.  She loved them!

DSCF2705

We had two choices for train cars:  Air con or no air con.  No air con is the “Thai way” to travel.  Both arrive at the same time so it is only a comfort difference, not a time difference.  At first I was like “I want the air con!” But then I found out the price difference and we opted for the no air con Thai way.  It was actually very comfortable, and there were many other foreigners aboard our car.

DSCF2706

View from the train.  The windows were open, and the train was travelling VERY SLOWLY so I got good photos.

DSCF2708

Train Ticket  15 Baht=50 cents

DSCF2710

Another train station viewed from our train.

DSCF2712

There were many, many vendors who came aboard hawking their wares.  It was a real party atmosphere.  They sold things like shaved ice, fresh fruit, comic books.  The above is a snack we bought that was sweet and delicious.  I want some now!

DSCF2714

View from the train

DSCF2715

View from the train

DSCF2716

View from the train

DSCF2717

View from the train.  Actually, less of the countryside looked like this than I expected.  There were quite a few nice buildings and nice-enough buildings.

DSCF2718

View from the train.

DSCF2719

View from the train.

DSCF2721

We arrive at Ayutthaya Station, an historic town with lots to see!