It’s my big black one that dates to the nineties. In a few years, it will be a collector`s item. It went blank and I thought for sure it died. I pressed the restart button, but nothing happened. I did not have any fresh batteries, and anyway I did not think it was the batteries.

So I got out my Ipad and studied using the translating app Midori. (I don’t have an Iphone.) Midori was really good, except……..some of the kanji were written slightly strange. I don’t know what the deal is, but it bothers me. I am considering buying the other translating app (Japanese? I think it is called?) and comparing.

But then when I got some new batteries, I put them into my old dinosaur translator and………it started up. So it was the batteries after all, I guess.

I went back to using the dinosaur translator instead of the ipad. The reason is that the old translator has been dropped multudinous times, so I don’t have to worry about being super careful about it. I have to be REALLY careful with the Ipad, however. I can’t just treat it like a regular book and toss it around a bit.

I want something I can lounge around with and not be super careful about, because I can get pretty rough and lazy when I am studying Japanese.