101_5100

A while back, my son got three beetle larvae and we have been diligently raising them.

I noticed that a beetle had darkened and stopped moving (top left in photo), so I said, “I think he is dead.”  Then my son poked the next darkened beetle (middle in photo) and said, “It’s moving.”  Which he was.  So I said, “Maybe this is the pupa stage?”

I searched the internet and asked on Facebook and asked my neighbor and nobody could really help me.  Finally the middle one stopped moving and I decided they were dead and threw them out.  I was hoping against all hopes they were transforming into beetles, but it appeared they were just getting disgusting and gross.

The one remaining (bottom right in photo) is still alive and kicking, so we are taking care of him.  All hopes remain on him, for he is the chosen one.