Early Sunday morning, my son and I were out walking around our neighborhood. My son said, “There’s a cat!” He pointed to the roof of a house.

I looked and there was an animal strolling along the roof. I said, “I don’t think that’s a cat!” We were looking at it in profile, and while its body was extremely cat-like, its face jutted out more than a cat’s does. It had a solid light gray body, and broadly striped dark gray head.

My son saw its profile too and agree that it did not look like a cat. We thought it was probably a はっくびしん, or in English a civet. (Some type of civet.)

Here’s the link to civet in the encyclopedia: http://www.britannica.com/EBchecked/topic/119168/civet

Pretty exciting to see a wild animal in downtown Fukushima that isn’t a rat! I know those are around too. LOL But don’t want to see one.

We love our weekend walks!