When I was sitting in my Japanese classroom, I notice that a Korean woman was looking at a Somatome book. She has passed 1 kyu and got 100% on 2 kyu, so I said, “Isn’t that too easy for you?” and she said, “Oh, this is a really good book! There is stuff in here I did not know!” (Translations are in English, Chinese, and Korean.)

I love the Somatome books, too. According to http://jlptbootcamp.com/ the Kanzen Master books are better than Somatome. That is probably true, but I haven’t studied the Kanzen Master books yet. Kanzen Master are entirely in Japanese, and I need the baby steps that Somatome provides.

I have completed the vocabulary and the grammar Somatome books, started the Listening and Reading Comprehension, and am currently midway through the kanji somatome book.

I just love this kanji book.  It uses real situations and teaches the kanji that you might find in those situations.  Some examples are trash collection, air conditioner remote control, household goods, maps, and so on. Even if you are not studying for a test, this book is so useful as reference.  I always wanted to know what the kanji meant on my remote controls!

Last night my husband and I discussed whether I should work towards the goal of becoming a translator.  He thinks that translating is VERY hard work, and that teaching English is so much easier.  I know it is difficult to be a translator, however, I am frankly sick of teaching English.  I need to think how I will fill the long years after my son leaves home, and maybe translating is the answer?

One thing that discourages me is that Japanese is such an extremely hard language.  I feel like I have studied so much, yet there is so much more to learn.  The 2kyu Reading Comprension passages elude me, so I definitely need a lot more practice.