“The cold doesn’t bodder me anyway!”

Yes, that’s the way my son sang it. Cute, but not quite right.

So I set out to do home speech therapy with him. The first thing I did was write a bunch a “th” and “d” words on a piece of paper and had him say them. The problem was: He realized I was giving him speech therapy and he was embarrassed about it. Normally, he does homework in English because he knows that he has a lot to learn, but here I was letting him know (not with words, but with my actions) that he was linguistically making a mistake.

So my second plan of action was to google speech therapy. There are a ton of helpful links. So many that I won’t put them here. You just google something like “speech therapy techniques for kids” and you’re off.

But to be honest, the games in the links were not exactly what I was looking for. But it aimed me in the right direction.

So I made up a game, and we played it the next day. I pretended to start a car and drive, saying “THTHTHTHTHTH” and had my son do it. So that was fun. And I pretend to be a bee with my finger going “THTHTHTHTHTHTH” Again, it was a less teachy preachy way of getting the point across to me son that he was doing it wrong.

Then the next day we played a fishing game. (The fishing pole is bamboo chopsticks, string, and tape at the end.) I scattered target words (which I had found using my speech therapy links) on the floor. My son fished and said the word. The only problem with this game is that he is no longer three years old and besides as he said, “It’s taking too long. I’ll just say them.” So he said all the words. And I gave him 100 yen. Hey, yes, I bribe.

So the next day we did a little more and I praised him with “Now you’re getting it!” I think my son was thinking, “I wasn’t getting it before?”

Then later I heard him singing to himself at his desk: “The cold doesn’t bother me anyway!”

Success!

I can totally relate to my son’s feeling because I went to thpeech therapy when I was theven because I lithped. Yeth, I was a Thindy Brady.

And you know, at the time, I HAD NO IDEA I LISPED. NONE. I just thought, “Hmmm….I wonder why I go to this room and practice these S sounds.” But I got it, and I no longer lisp. (I have heard myself speak on tape.) I was young enough to be clueless, but my son is old enough to be embarrassed.

Anway, speech therapy really isn’t that hard. It’s just a bunch of games and practice (and trying to not make your child feel like an idiot.) So good luck!