We watched this movie on DVD. I had been interested in it and my son was rather “meh” about it. Anyway, after watching it, I am also very “meh” about it. It’s not a terribly great movie. Three stars out of ten.

On the plus side: It introduces the Sandman, Jack Frost, and the Bogeyman to my son. Believe it or not, he was not familar with these mythological figures. So I explained each one. And that was good. I like him knowing who those fellas are, not having that gap in his American culture knowledge. (Although I am not sure why he doesn’t know who the Sandman is. I sang him the song when he was younger. Perhaps he forgot?)

On the the minus side: My son lost a tooth last night. As he put it under his pillow, I said, “Now I have this vision of the tooth fairy as a huge bird thing creeping into the room, along with Scary Santa Claus….” (If you have seen the movie, you know what I am talking about.)

So it kind of ruins it for us, ya know? I can no longer imagine the tooth fairy as a delicate sprite who flits here and there, rather now the tooth fairy is embedded in my mind as a dancer from Carnival. Kind of “ick.”

So therefore I recommend the movie for older kids. Kids old enough to create their own version of the tooth fairy, not young enough to be influenced by Dreamworks.