Well, the Olympics are on. In Sochi, Japanese men (boys?) took silver and bronze in snowboarding.

We were all the watching the news and it showed one of them as a wee little boy, no older than five or six, performing skateboarding tricks.

My husband and I were joking around, and he said that he did not want our son to do that. It’s too expensive, he said.

I said that it didn’t matter because our son is going for the gold in languages–Japanese and English. I honestly feel like we are in training like an Olympic athlete or a professional pianist.

Where will this lead my son? Hopefully, to a good job, I suppose. He prefers math and science over languages, so in that direction, perhaps. I certainly hope his bilingual skills will help him in the future.

いまはオリンピック大会です。私の息子は英語日本語の金メダルをかちます。Bilingualympicsですから。これから開催です。がんばってね!