My son asked why they were called brownies, and I so I said, “I think because they are brown.”  He said, “Why don’t we call them cocoa cake because they have cocoa in them?”  So that is what we call them here now.   Not brownies, but cocoa cake.

101_4254 101_4259

The ingredients and the finished product.  It looks a little burnt, but I promise it was not burnt.   The brownies cocoa cake was perfect.

I got the recipe from my online friend Jen on the Multilingual Families board at Babycenter.   It is a great board.

This is the recipe copied here:

here is the brownie cocoa cake recipe from

7th Grade Handbook for Consumer Science and Homemaking

Edgewood and Lakeview Middle Schools, Warsaw, IN (printed in 1991)

1/2 c margarine (or butter), softened

1 c sugar

2 eggs

1/2 c flour

1/2 c cocoa

1 t vanilla

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F

In medium bowl, beat together the margarine and sugar

Add the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition.

While stirring, gradually add the flour, cocoa, and vanilla

Pour batter into an ungreased 8″ x 8″ square pan

Bake for 35 minutes DO NOT OVERBAKE.  BROWNIES COCOA CAKE WILL BE HARD IF OVERBAKED.  Allow to cool.

Note: if you wish to make a large batch, double the ingredients and bake in a 13″ x 9″ pan.

It is so easy, there isn’t much point in using a mix.  If a 7th grader can make it, so can you!

Jen

So I am pleading with all use to please use the term “cocoa cake” and hopefully it will catch on and eventually be added to the dictionary.  🙂