Image

I have stopped drinking caffeine and am exploring the world of herbal teas.  However…..I since found these at our local international store, so I needn’t have bought them.  I think in the States they were three something and in Japan a little over 500 yen.  So not a huge price difference.

Image

Toppings for icing.  I don’t bake much, but hopefully this will give me an incentive 🙂

The food coloring is for Easter egg coloring in the spring.

The kisses are actually candy cane flavored!  What will they think of next?

Image

From Half Price book store.  LOVE IT!  All 1.99 (except the Tiger book which was 2.99)  I wanted to buy more, but was in a hurry.  It turned out okay, because I simply could not fit more in our suitcases.

Image

I filched Readers Digest and Catholic Digest from my dad.  I wanted the People mags, but those were already given away!  (That’s all right, they went to a good home 🙂

I haven’t started them yet, I have been studying Japanese so much.  I will give them to the nuns (who are Canadian) if I ever finish them.

Image

This is various chocolate I bought.  Some Christmas on sale, some not.  I bought more than this and gave some away.  (Omiyage, of course.  🙂  Anyhoo……we are going through this v…e…r…y…s…l…o…w…l…y.  It will last us a while. 

I definitely wanted my son to experience Fun Dip.  True American experience.  I am excited about the English messages in the fortune cookies.  I have not opened them yet, but hopeful they say things like “You are too cool!”

Funny story.  I gave my son a chocolate kiss and told him it was a kiss.   He said, “Whaaaaat?”   !!!!!!!!  Evidently he does not know what chocolate kisses are!!!!!!!  We we need to remedy that.  Hershey’s Kisses are true Americana.

Image

Loved the candy canes.  I bought them before Christmas, so they were not on sale.  But as I told the boy who checked me out, “I don’t want to take a chance they will get sold out!”  The traditional red and white ones were 99 cents.  The other ones were 1.99.  SO CHEAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!  :\D  Anyway, I actually bought twice as much as this and gave half to the nuns at church.  Note to self:  The candy cane boxes take a LOT of room in luggage!  I am thinking I should have taken them out and put them in a carry-on.Image

This was presents to my two Japanese teachers and the leader of the group.  They are volunteers, not paid!  So I definitely wanted to bring them something.

Anyway, the chocolate was bought after Christmas, 50% off.   So were the cards.  They were with the Christmas cards, but I don’t think they look necessarily Christmassy.  Anyway, they are adorable. Another thing I bought in the States were Thank You cards.  They are outrageously expensive here, but a necessity for me.  (I buy my yearly Christmas cards cheaply at church, so I did not need to buy those.)